Home Protection...what do you use?

AceT100

Rocker
I have 2 dogs, security lighting & big locks...what do you guys use?

I'm thinking a Mossberg 500 J.I.C CRUISER

Last edited:

Kirkus51

Hooligan
The Judge. Plus my two dogs put up a racket.... they might nip a thief's ankles ... a bit.

Attachments

• judge gun.JPG
    judge gun.JPG
    83.6 KB · Views: 0
  • Dog on guard.jpg
    Dog on guard.jpg
    87.7 KB · Views: 0
I install ADT security systems for a living. I don't have one in my current rental place, but my new house is getting hooked up when I move in. Full 9 yards, monitored smoke detectors, glass break sensors, motion detectors in every room, etc. Why? Because I can. The monitored smoke detectors will save me (and lots of other people) 15% off my homeowner's insurance.

Besides that, 2 crazy dogs, some firearms, and a good insurance policy will round out the package.

By the way, unless your dogs are trained attack dogs, they're pretty much worthless for home protection. They might let you know someone is at the door, but they won't stop someone from stealing your shit.

Guns are great, but only work if you're there, awake, and pointing it at the bad dude.

And security lighting, while a good idea, won't do a whole lot either. Most break-ins happen during the day while you're at work, not at night. Most times the thief will be in your house less than 10 minutes.

Last edited:

koifarm

Hooligan
Well, let's see, four infra red sensors bracketing my property (1 1/2 acres) with two receivers one in the front room and one in the bedroom, the receivers have a distinct tone for each outdoor sensor, 3 spotlights with movement sensors mounted at various places covering the front, back and separate shop area, one really great dawg who will alert at the slightest disturbance outside with a low throaty growl, she sleeps next to the bed at night.