Whats the disadvantage to an airbox removal kit?

RyanRobot99

Street Tracker
Hey guys! new guy here,

I have an 09 Thruxton. It's amazing... I'm about to order a whole mess of parts to keep me busy this winter.

Amongst the order is the BRITISH CUSTOMS AIRBOX REMOVAL KIT.

I have a question about the down side of this kit, Is there one?!

I'm still new to bikes... I've seen before and after performance dyno tests. Its amazing what opening up the air can do.

So, what's the down side? There has to be a reason they come with an airbox.

Thanks!

-Ryan

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////
---UPDATED 12.30.09---
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Sean at British Customs sold me an Air Box Removal Kit today.

Now the interesting news: The bike is EFI and like the carb versions needs to be re jetted. Re-mapped in my case. Sean directed to many qualified shops in my area. Looks like I have two options 1) Have the box installed and have the computer maped with the Triumph Arrow 2into2 map. OR 2) Find some one with a tune boy, Pay Sean a fee to run my serial, give up a custom unlock code, and then have him send me the custom British Custom's EFI Thruxton map.

I'm not sure what direction to go in. Mostly because I don't know any one in my area with a tuneboy.

Apparently the Arrow 2into2 map WORKS, but doesn't utilize the bike air mod to its full potential...

Thoughts?

As of right now, ACE Motorsports in Concord CA told me to give them a call when the box removal kit comes. He will install the Arrow Map.

Any one know any one in the SF East Bay Area who can tune boy my bike and install the kit? Sean says the closest guy is in Sacramento.

--Ryan

Last edited:

Mahart

Two Stroke
You'll pollute the air a little more without it.

Sorry, confused that with AI.

Last edited:
I've ridden my bike in heavy rain many times and have never had a problem. I've run K&N filters and UNI filters, with no covers.

BlueJ

Blue Haired Freak