First bike

Hey everyone, im turning 16 in a few days, and now my dreams of getting a Bonneville are starting to taste real. Always wanted one, and with much work convinced my parents o let me get one. Whats the word legally? do i need my drivers license first? im amusing i will, so i guess my triumphs still about 6 months out? also, i have some dirt bike experience from when i was younger. Obviously the dirt bike i was riding was much smaller then a motorcycle would be, will it be like learning all over again? It kind of sucks that i have no bike to learn on befor i get on the triumph, my dads old bike hasnt run in years.... Excuse the long post haha, just a little excited!
Thank you!

do i need my drivers license first?

that's a pretty stupid question, dontcha think? To operate the bike legally on public roads you'll need a DL with a motorcycle endorsement.

This is contrary to what I would have wanted at 16, but maybe you should get some road time under your belt in a cage before you put yourself out on the road with cages.

You should definitely take the MSF class. This is a motorcycle course where they both teach basic skills and also help you get your motorcycle endorsement.

Good luck, don't kill yourself.

I meant do i need a drivers license for a CAR before i can get a motorcycles license haha, my bad, i wasn't clear. as far as the MSF classes , do they lend you a bike or do you need to bring your own?

Craigore

TT Racer
I've been riding 2 years with only a class D license and motorcycle permit. Of course, things are a little bit different here in the city where you only get pulled over for flashing a gun and or driving while intoxicated. The reality of my getting caught is very real, I DO NOT ADVOCATE THIS TYPE OF BEHAVIOR. Piaget says that you're a formal operational thinker by your age, what do you think?

...get a license and job before owning a motorcycle.