Took a daytrip on some BMW's to El Mirage for landspeed racing

Wheelbilly

Scooter
This first post is a teaser, my card reader is at work so all I have a few pics off my phone at the moment. A friend and I rode some rental bikes from Orange County up to the high desert to catch the last race of the season at El Mirage. I rode the GS, the plan was to switch on the way back but I enjoyed it so much I couldn't give it up! I have limited riding experience, a cafe 74 Yamaha TX500, then a KLR, and now an 05 Bonnie, but hot dang, the GS is one helluva nice bike.

We made a pitstop at the Mavericks minor league baseball stadium in Victorville, or Adelanto, one of those... caught the tail end of practice
photo%203.jpg

Made it to the dirt and caught some good runs. One ridiculously fast Mitsubishi spun out passing through the timing lights at 207 mph!
photo.jpg

The trusty steeds.
photo%202.jpg

I have a bum back at the tender age of 28, and have had problems with most bikes. I got rid of the KLR because it was just too, simple I guess is the word. The BMW's are nicer then most of the cars I've owned. 230 some miles and my back felt great. I understand now why people become so passionate about them. No matter how much money I dumped into the KLR to improve it, I wouldn't have been as happy with it as I would be with the stock GS. I love my Bonnie and I'm definitely a multiple bike kind of guy, so I can see the GS fitting into the stable at some point very easily.

Huge thanks to Jupiter's NYC for making this trip happen. Much more fun then just driving out to the races, though now I'm spoiled! Fortunately, "my" bike is just a phone call and a credit card away :p I'm glad to come back to my Bonnie, but will certainly miss the GS.

Wheelbilly

Scooter