Finally removed the stock air box!

fender

Street Tracker
Wish I did this earlier in the riding season. Used a hacksaw blade and dremel. The hardest part was getting the screws out of the side panels with the airbox on the bike. Once past that it was really easy.

The change in performance was quite noticeable. Pulls really hard up to redline, I'm still working on the jetting and needle height, but so far I'm quite happy with the results.

pilot 42, 3.5 turns out on mix screw
Thruxton needles w/ 2 .5 shims
155 mains

Once I feel like I have it closer with the jetting I'll take it in and have it dyno'd to get the A/F right on. The combination of Predators and air box removal really changed the personality of the bike. I've been running the bike for the past two years with Preds and stock air box. Loved the sound but need a little more performance.

Attachments

• IMG_2593.jpg
    IMG_2593.jpg
    66.3 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2594.jpg
    IMG_2594.jpg
    49.2 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2595.jpg
    IMG_2595.jpg
    70 KB · Views: 0
  • IMG_2596.jpg
    IMG_2596.jpg
    57.8 KB · Views: 0

SCBonneville

Two Stroke
Also, just for good measure... with 42 pilots, turn the pilot screws between 1 and 1 1/2 turns out...

I did the "carve" a while back... I'm now running 3 1/2 turns out on the pilot screws, 40 pilot jets, Thruxton needles with 1 Keihin (very thin) shim and 145 main jets. K&N pods, EPCO peashooter exhaust and a reworked igniter...

I had a dyno run a couple of weeks back (prior to putting the shim under the needles and going from 138's up to the 145's) and was spot on A/F ratio wise up to 5k rpms.. then it went lean up on top. I've added the shims and 145's and will get back on the dyno in a couple of weeks to check the jetting - A/F ratio and confirm some VERY nice hp/torque figures... It's running balls to the walls right now!

fender

Street Tracker
Thanks for the input!