Cool CB450 K1 cafe.

ThruxTonUp

TT Racer
Honda CB450 K1
Posted: 25 Mar 2010 10:30 AM PDT

In the days before the horsepower race, the Honda CB450 was one of the most desirable bikes you could buy. You had the choice of charismatic, cantankerous British iron, which would invariably mark its territory with a little puddle of oil, heavyweight American cruisers, or the jewel-like build quality and supreme reliability of a Honda. This 1968 CB450 is one of the 6,000-or-so early K1 models, with a simple ‘450’ badge on the side panels, beneath a textured black vinyl seat with delicate white piping. The fuel tank was different to the ‘Black Bomber’ K0 models introduced in 1965, and the K1 was an altogether more attractive and contemporary-looking model. The example featured here was restored by the talented Jean-Claude Barrois, a welder by profession and friend of the Southsiders collective; Barrois has subtly modified this CB450 to add a sportier touch, creating new rearsets and fitting a redesigned exhaust. (The bike has now been sold, and the new owner plans to add a period-correct Avon fairing.) The excellent photography, by the way, is from Guerry & Prat Images, a new studio that is shaping up to become one of Europe ’s leading motorcycle photography studios. [With thanks to Vincent Prat.]
Phase One | H25 back | 22MP | ISO 1

honda-cb450-6.jpg

Honda CB450 K1 is a post from Bike EXIF - Classic motorcycles, custom motorcycles and cafe racers.

Last edited:

drlapo

Hooligan
wow. talk about rose colored glasses
that is not the way I remember the black bomber
it is not in my top 1000

Motley

750cc
It sure is a beauty.

I just sold my K4 this past Saturday. It wasn't near as nice as the Bomber.

HondaCB450Oct09007.jpg

Kirkus51

Hooligan