camshaft leak?

drmuonfunk

Scooter
I'm a newbie to wrenching and just pulled my airbox and added predator pipes. I've gone on about 3 rides so far one a few hundred miles. Tonight I decided to take a zip around the city. WHen I got back I noticed there was some liquid that looked like it leaked out of the camshaft covers. Anyone have a clue of why this might be happening?

Deano

Two Stroke
when you say liquid, was it oil??? Should only be oil coming out from cam covers. Sounds like the covers need a tweak down (if not damaged) or possible check faces of covers and of rocker box, they might need a re-face. I had an oil leak at back of motor, the connector was tweaked by triumph guys, problem gone.

when you say liquid, was it oil??? Should only be oil coming out from cam covers. Sounds like the covers need a tweak down (if not damaged) or possible check faces of covers and of rocker box, they might need a re-face. I had an oil leak at back of motor, the connector was tweaked by triumph guys, problem gone.

do not try to tighten down the cam cover bolts. You will strip them out. If the cam cover is leaking it needs a new gasket, new cam cover bolt seams, or a thin bead of RTV.

Kirkus51

Hooligan
By the way, it's pretty much a common problem and doesn't affect the performance of the bike. It's just a nuisance. I had it and it was fixed under warranty. Took less than an hour.

drmuonfunk

Scooter
Thanks fellows. After researching a little last night I've read similar issues with the gasket. Unfortunately my warranty ran out in November on my 08. I'll call around or research how hard this would be for me to change out the gasket. I have a feeling this all started the last time my dealer checked out my cams. I have about 2,000 miles before my 18,000 do you think I'm safe till then?

nwraindevil

Two Stroke