Cam Cover Changeover Bonneville SE 09

benjamindickens

Street Tracker
Gday guys I just wanted to ask your opinions regarding changing the stock cam cover for a chrome or sixty 8 colour cam cover. I am new to the bike world and very new to this site. What is involved, and can it be done by yourself or is it a job for the experts. I am in Melbourne Australia and have been quoted 110 Aus for install of the chrome cover. Just for your info if you would prefer a brushed cam cover the cost is 480 Aus as oposed to chrome which is 180 from Peter Stevens. I hope you guys can give me some insite all the best Benwa :mad2::sidecar:

sportyone

Street Tracker
I reckon you could do it yourself if your took your time, it's just fiddly 'cose have to remove the seat and tank !
but after that it would be pretty straight forward I think ?

what's wrong with the existing cam covers ?

good luck,

cheers, :headbang2:

MattRat

TT Racer
changing cam cover should take about 15 minutes, including seat & tank removal and drinking a beer while admiring your work. The only thing to really worry about is the torque on the cam cover bolts. they stretch and break VERY EASILY - I think torque is 10nm but double- and - triple check that before you start tightening.

yellowrubiu

Street Tracker
.... break VERY EASILY - I think torque is 10nm but double- and - triple check that before you start tightening.

Yep, 10 Nm is what I've seen everywhere for pre-09's, not sure if this has changed for 09's. Get a good torque wrench if you don't have one already. It will definitely come in handy for other work on the bike.

Last edited:

KingBear

Hooligan
The toughest part is keeping the rubber gasket in place while fitting the new cover. That alone will get you cussing.

RumRunner

Street Tracker
The toughest part is keeping the rubber gasket in place while fitting the new cover. That alone will get you cussing.