re-living days gone by...

rodburner

Rocker
And it was as simple as buying a new helmet.Have only worn full face helmets the past 30 years,but after meeting BillyD of HellMutts at this years Billetproof show,I`ve kept looking at the old 3/4 lids of my youth.And by youth,I mean the non bubbled headed type like Bell and Buco. Well thanks to the wonders of ebay,I picked up 2 vintage buckets,both NOS,pre-DOT versions.This 1973 Shoei,[the year I graduated from high school]..
Picture198.jpg

Picture199.jpg

and this `77 Buco Blueline..
Picture201.jpg

Both need some foam bits replaced,but are in otherwise new condition.Blasting around with the wind in my face today,was just plain sweet.:ride:

koifarm

Hooligan
Nice lids Rodburner, I had a beautiful old Bell helmet that saw me through years of bike riding then skydiving and eventually got lost in a move.....but there was just something about them that was nice and nostalgic.
I still have two old Shoei full faces that I have had for years, probably bought in the mid 70's and I was just in the shop last night looking over one I had repainted to match my bike/sidecar rig. Somehow I just felt funny or felt it would look goofy to have matching helmet/rig colors but had some paint left in the gun when painting and grabbed one and shot it....
Point being, I tried it on and it just felt great! It's not DOT but is still in great shape and I'd consider it safe to wear.
Fortunately I still have one in original colors and may consider using that.
Can anyone enlighten me as to the legality of using a good helmet that's not DOT, like, is it legal?
The major thing I like about the Shoeis is that they have more peripheral vision, and that's a plus. I've even rigged a new face shield for it since none are available out there to fit.
I'll post some pics tomorrow, about to hit the sack here.....

Last edited:

rodburner

Rocker