Odometer 'scale' question

FoothillRyder

Two Stroke
I bought a non-CA bike and ran the odo up to the legal number using an electric motor connected to the speedo cable. I noticed while making that 'adjustment' that the number of 'miles' registered was high based on the speedo reading and the elapsed time.

Having just completed a rideabout of ~1000 miles I had many opportunities to capture data about this error, and I've concluded that my odometer is registering kilometers, not miles. Odo said 300 'units', GPS reported 191 miles.

My question is - does the Scrambler's odometer have any sort of switch or mechanism to change the 'scale'?

The speedo is almost dead-nuts on, reading 60mph when the GPS reports 59-ish.

TIA.

Frank

Scooter
I have a 2009 Triumph Speedmaster and the Speedo is off quite a bit. I utilize a GPS when I'm riding and constantly compare the Speedo to the GPS. At 60mph on the Speedo the GPS shows 55mph and at 70mph on the Speedo the GPS shows 64 mph & at 80mph on the speedo the GPS shows 73mph.

FoothillRyder

Two Stroke
Just to clarify...

My speedo is freakin' perfect. 60mph is 60mph (within a half mph).

It's the odometer that registers 1.6 'units' for every mile travelled.

BlueJ

Blue Haired Freak
My question is - does the Scrambler's odometer have any sort of switch or mechanism to change the 'scale'?

Nope. But I bet your GPS does, if you want those "units" to match. Sounds funky, with kms on the odo and miles on the speedo, but I guess it could happen.

FoothillRyder

Two Stroke
Nope. But I bet your GPS does, if you want those "units" to match. Sounds funky, with kms on the odo and miles on the speedo, but I guess it could happen.

The speedo has both mph and kph scales.

It is possible that this particular bike was originally sold in Canada.

I have a 'spare' speedometer/odometer unit I could plug in; but it really makes no difference as I don't plan to sell the bike. Would be nice to know though.

wiseanhyzer

Two Stroke