Air box removal on EFI

crikket44

Scooter
Hi kids. I was wondering if anyone has an opinion on mods that will get me some more hp on a efi T-100. My mechanic doesn't seem to think the air-box removal will do much, except at the top end. Any thoughts? P.S. I have tors silencers at the moment, and am open for any performance suggestions that would cost around a grand.

Easy13

Street Tracker
I'm not an expert on EFI, but the principles remain the same: If you can increase airflow both in and out, you'll net performance.

It's not that tough of a job to chop up your stock airbox, just research a bit at the T-rat site under the "good source of info" sticky and know that it's really easier than it sounds. UNI pod filters flow very well and can be had very inexpensively:

http://www.oemcycle.com/Item/product/5261/PU/1011-0758/ANGLED_ID_2.5in_LENGTH_OF_FOAM_4in

There are lots of mufflers in the aftermarket, most of which will outperform the TORs and make a pleasant sound doing it, so look for the style you want and get to it.

crikket44

Scooter
Thanks for the input. I wish I would have done a little more research on the mufflers before I bought them. I like the sound on the TORS, just wish they were a little louder. Ah well, next time.

scottslob

Scooter
I notice the biggest power increase at 4500 to 5500 rpm. at least thats what I really feel. however Dyno results show a good increase in torque in the 2000 to3000 range.

PieMan

Two Stroke
Only do the airbox carve if you're prepared to go the whole hog and have a custom tune for the EFI, otherwise you'll be running hot and lean and you won't gain much power either.

Speed3Chris

I like Dick
There are many that have removed it and many that have modded the box. I have an EFI bike and kept the box and removed the restrictor. There is no question that removing or modifying the box will help the motor breath a bit.
To me removing the box is about:
1. Sound
2. Opportunity for more dirt or water ingress