Fuel Mileage Per Tank?

Wailuku43

Hi there, I'm new to the forum and I recently purchased a new to me 2005 Bonneville Black. The bike has 5,500 miles on it and I mostly ride it around town for commuting in Boise, ID. When I received the bike in early June, there was some gas in it and I topped the sucker off. It made it to about 120 miles until it had to be switched to reserve. On the next tank of gas, the bike began sputtering at 99-100 miles before switching to reserve. On my most recent tank of gas (fill up #3) it sputtered at 109 miles before I switched to reserve. Between the 1st and 2nd tank of gas I changed the spark plugs, oil & filter, and adjusted/cleaned/lubed the chain. I found it to be interesting that the mileage seemed to go down significantly. Since I'm new to riding the bike, thought I would ask if this sounds like a normal fuel mileage range? Should I be worried about the drop from 120 mi to 100 and 109 mi before reserve?

Oil Used: Mobil full synthetic 10w40
Oil Filter: K&N 204

Other than switching the oil filter and plugs, the bike is completely stock.

qwenzel

Two Stroke
Since the bike is barely broken in your mileage will vary. But the big factor is the stop + go in commuting traffic. Check your air cleaner it could be dirty after all those years. Also you may want to run a couple of tank full of gas with Sea Foam. which is avail at auto parts stores, Lowe's, basically all over.
After all that is done your mileage may not improve that much. My 05 T100 would get about 125 miles before I'd switch to reserve. Enjoy your bike and don't forget to reset your trip odometer.

bonZa

Street Tracker
miler per gallon varies a lot with these bikes

short trips of a few miles then restarting a cold engine and another few miles they guzzle.

if they havent been ridden often they guzzle, probably due to some fuel evaporation

long steady rides they are ok

in US gallons per mile mine ranges from 38 mpg to 45 mpg